10 Questions With…Brett Visca

makeup3

Brett Visca is a 22-year old makeup artist from Winnipeg. He is the owner of Visca Artistry.

1.    What is art?

Art, I find, is a way that we all express ourselves. It can be shown through how we dress, what we listen to, our occupation, our lifestyle — in pretty much everything we do.

2.    If you were stranded on an island, which three things would you wish to have?

My iPod. I love music and can’t imagine not having it. Also my cat.

3.    What creation are you most proud of?

I’m most proud of creating my own business (Visca  Artistry).  It’s been cool to have my own business and be my own boss and continue on growing the business and the ventures. Like, now I am getting into special effects, releasing my own brush line, and teaching classes!

4.    What is your favourite movie, and why?

I really like Jennifer’s Body. It’s dark, it’s funny and it’s sexy. I also am a huge horror movie fan, which has increased my love of being a makeup artist. I love the Scream series, Candyman and Nightmare On Elm Street series.

5.    What inspires you?

Fashion is a big inspiration. I love designers like Alexander McQueen, Jean Paul Gaultier, and Thierry Mugler, as well as horror films.

6.    What is your “life motto”?

Treat others how you want to be treated.

7.    Have you had formal training or does it come naturally?

I am a certified Makeup Artist through MC College, as well as received training from Stila, Clinique, Estée Lauder, Dior, and many other cosmetic brands.

8.    What’s one thing on your bucket list?

I would love to have my own fashion line before I kick the bucket. It’s always been something in the back of my mind and inspires me.

9.    Who is your favourite artist?

I really like Pink. I love her as a person, her sound and her style. I’ve also been a huge fan of No Doubt, Marilyn Manson, Natalia Kills, Courtney Love and lots of 90’s rock/alternative music.

10.    Why this art medium?

It kind of just fell into my lap being a makeup artist. I needed a job and I started in retail, then it became a passion of mine which I’m slowly turning into a career!

twothree

To see more of Brett’s work, check him out on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

