10 Questions With…Michael Alan

525517_10151458396492306_911407355_n (1)

“I am Michael Alien, an alien who wants good and to exist with a twist of chaos and a big splash of toxic paint!”— Art Info

Michael Alan “Alien” is a 36-year old New York based multi-media artist. His work includes: drawings, paintings, prints, sculptures, video, music, and performances, and is represented by Gasser Grunert in Chelsea, New York.ma2

Michael has had nine solo art shows in New York, his work has been featured in over 200 group shows and over 200 living installations (Michael’s drawings and paintings being acted out live).

Michael is also the founder and director of the Living Installation, where human beings are transformed into live art and are set to his original music (available for purchase here.)

I started following Michael Alan a long time ago on his Instagram account. I resist the urge to double tap every photo he posts, because that’s just it, I like everything he does. His work is like no one’s I’ve ever seen before, and I could stare at his his pieces for hours, fascinated by each and every line.

When the day comes that I make it to New York, seeing one of his art shows is definitely on my bucket list. But for now, I got the chance to ask him ten questions about himself–including what’s on his bucket list–and here’s what he had to say:

10 Questions:

1. What is art?  

In today’s society art is anything you say it is, which is why most art is shit. The question should be what is true art.

2. If you were stranded on an island, which three things would you wish to have? 

All my art supplies, water and anxiety medication.

3. What creation are you most proud of? 

The energy I have been given to create.

4. What is your favourite movie and why? 

I don’t know, favorites aren’t realistic. There are so many great movies. I feel that movies are one of the high points of our culture. All the way from I shot Andy Warhol, Superstar, The Road, &, Blue Velvet, LA Confidential, Dallas Buyers Club, Brazil, Bronson, Motherwell, Ghostworld, Tapeheads, Brewsters Millions, The Muppets take Manhattan, and my favorite  See no Evil, Hear no Evill with Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder.

5. What inspires you? 

Every fucking thing, good or bad.

6. What is your “life motto”? 

Don’t dream your dream, live your dream.

7. Have you had formal training or does it come naturally? 

I’ve gone to art school but I’ve never had an instructor give me a lesson except for critiques. I’ve got lucky, I always got more support and encouragement.

8. What’s one thing on your bucket list?

I want to see my new 12” album get pressed by Vas Deferens organisation. I’ve had a lot of cds released but this is my first vinyl collaborative epic art album.

9. Who is your favourite artist?  

The Czechosovakian stop motion animator Jan Svankmajer.

10. Why this art medium? 

Because!

Take a look at this.
michaelalan1
michaelalan2
michaelalan3
michaelalan4
michaelalan5
michaelalan6
michaelalan7
ma1
More photos are available on his Facebook page. Also, Catie Keck, an Intern at the Huffington Post, recently asked Michael Alan eight questions about his upcoming performance on May 4 for “New Museum Untapped,” check it out here.
2 comments

Leave a Reply

