An Ode To My Ladies

WARNING: this post may contain cheese.

As of right now, I am a 22 year-old woman who’s been working at a kick-ass hair salon for the past 2+ years. I work with the four most amazing women, I meet and talk to the coolest/friendliest/smartest clients around and I love what I do. I know the clientele and they know me. We converse. It’s one of those jobs where I’ve totally OCDed it into my own little organized chaos, and I love it.

I am about to embark on a new chapter in my life. School is something I always knew was in my future, I just needed time to figure out what for. I felt lost 2 years ago. With time, and help from some special people, it finally feels clear. Ah, clarity. So I’m going back to school. It’s what I gotta do, and I gotta do what I gotta do. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared. Leaving behind four friends that I’ve spent every day with for the past two years is going to be tough. Friends that I can look at and I know what they’re thinking. I’m scared but excited. Sad but so freaking happy. Change is good, and I’m totally going to embrace it.

So with that, I’d like to write a little somethin’ somethin’ to my ladies. Thank you for always being there.

THANK-YOU THANK-YOU THANK-YOU.

You all have taught me so much; about myself, about being a woman, about life. I’ve learned that a job can be much more than just a job and that a co-worker can be much more than that, too. FRIENDS are what you ladies have become. Inspirations + motivators, confidantes + advice-givers. I feel at home when I’m at work, and not many people are lucky enough to experience that. It’s a lovely feeling.

Catherine, Carol, Tamara and Noelle, you are my ladies. Each so talented, so unique, so wise, so intelligent and so beautiful in your own way. I’d just like to throw out what I love the most about each of you because you each have been so good to me:

Catherine, you are so loving. Not only to me, the girls and the clients, but to your children + husband. It’s beautiful to see. Talking to you, I know that you care. You want to know how I am, and you make a point of always making everyone and I feel special. You know the importance of the little things in life and have always made me feel appreciated. You have led by example on what it means to be a good person. For that, I am so grateful.

Carol, you are devoted, my dear. You’ve got that spunk, that one-of-a-kind personality. You know what you like and you stick to it. Your sense of humor is on point, and your laughter is infectious. I will miss your loud laughing outbursts, your random singing + your SNL jokes (#actually). You have a way of making people feel so comfortable, as if they’ve been talking to a friend of many years, and you have done that with me too. For that, I am so grateful.

Noelle, you are the most easy-going person I have ever met in my life. It seems that you don’t let anything get to you, which not many people can do. You know what’s important. I envy that so much about you. You’re simple, but in a super cool way. What you see is what you get. Instances when I have come to you for advice, you give it to me straight, tell it like it is. For that, I am so grateful.

Tamara, I have never met anyone with so much advice to give. You are so wise for such a young woman. I feel like no matter what I’m facing, I know I can come to you to talk, and you seem to always have a solution. You are incredibly giving + nurturing. You’re thoughtful. You have become a great friend of whom I know I can always rely. For that, I am so grateful.

This is in no way a good-bye, you ladies are going to have to try a lot harder to get rid of me. I’ve learned that some people are important + good, and those people deserve to hear it. So this is my ode to you ladies. 

staff                                           PHOTO: SUNNY S-H PHOTOGRAPHY

I warned there would be cheese.

3 comments

  1. Geret

    Aww… so nice! As one of the clients, I’m really going to miss seeing you every 5-6 weeks! Good luck… I’ll bring you some dorky school supplies by the store one of these days!

  2. Pingback: A J V FIELD
  3. Pingback: hello again | A J V FIELD

Leave a Reply

