where does the time go…?

No, but seriously. I feel like I was just on my summer vacation, yet here we are, 5 months later with nothing but pictures and great memories. Not even a slight tan. Oh well, so is life, I guess. My girlfriend and I went on a lovely one week trip to Las Vegas, with two days in California. It was so much fun and I loved every second of it. People often say that travelling helps you become who you are and find out what you want to do in life, and I would have to agree. I’m a firm believer that every experience in life gives us a chance to learn and grow from it. Here are a few things I learned:

#1. Responsibility and Independence. I know this may sound silly, but from the planning to the saving for this vacation I felt that I gained a new sense of maturity and independence. I have been extremely fortunate in my life thus far to be able to say I have visited many different places. My parents have a love for travel, so a family vacation was something they often planned, which for that I am so grateful. With that being said, my parents were obviously the planners for those vacations, whereas this one was up to my girlfriend and I. From deciding where we wanted to go, getting passports, saving the funds, to actually booking it (eek!) it was pretty well all up to us. I know for a fact that big decisions and planning will be in our futures, but for now, this was a learning experience, and one that I am proud to say was executed perfectly with no problems!

#2. Dreams are very real, very important, and very possible. This vacation, no doubt, gave me the motivation I needed in my life. L.A. seems to be the place where people go to follow their dreams, and there was just something in that smoggy air that was so inspirational. I was able to visit actual movie sets where people I admire worked on, t.v. sets such as Central Perk from ‘F.R.I.E.N.D.S’ and the sets from the ‘Big Bang Theory’. I think the feeling of being a part of something so big reminded me that this is real life. People are people. We can do what we want as long as we persevere and work hard at the goals we wish to attain. The people I so admire who stood where I stood were normal people just like me, and now I was there, even if just as a tourist. It’s so important to dream, it’s so important to believe in your dreams as well, because as long as we’re actively moving forward in the directions of our dreams and working hard, everything will work itself out.

#3. Love what you’ve got. Clearly I am naive and I assumed that Hollywood would look like how they make it seem on t.v. and in the movies. Silly me. Not that I have any major complaints, it just wasn’t as glamorous as I’d imagined it would be. Funny how they do that, eh? The day we were in Hollywood, Slash was getting his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, so it was extra busy. Parking was $20, it was extremely hot out and I was dealing with a sick girlfriend and a nasty sun burn. The shops along Hollywood Blvd. weren’t super nice, mostly souvenir shops selling Hollywood paraphernalia, and after walking and walking, I’d never realized I knew so many celebrities. Overall though, I didn’t mind Hollywood, under different circumstances I probably would have fallen in love with it. I did enjoy how many people there were, just like us, who you could tell were so excited to be there and who wanted to take millions of pictures. I also enjoyed how there was always that slight possibility that I would get to see somebody that I knew. So, what I learned from my little Hollywood visit was that what you see isn’t always what you get. There’s no point in starting to dislike where you live because you’ve started dreaming of how wonderful your life will be somewhere else. I imagined a luxurious better-than type of Hollywood and it sort of fell flat for me, but that’s okay because it made me appreciate where I’m from that much more. I hear people say all the time how much they hate Winnipeg. Well friends, Las Vegas is hot hot hot with no greenery in sight and California has crazy traffic and smoggy skies. You take what you can get I guess. Life is too short. All I know is that when I got back to Winnipeg after my short little getaway, I had a new found love of trees.

#4. I. Love. Travelling. Obviously this is something that I have always known, but this trip surely reminded me of that. I would be happy going anywhere because I wish to see everywhere. My vacation was a pleasant little getaway from reality, to a crazy place I had never been before. All I could think about when I got back was “where to next?” and that thought has yet to leave my mind. I’ve definitely been struck with wanderlust, and I am totally okay with that. As they say, “once you’ve got wanderlust in your blood, you’ve got it for life.” Bring. It. On.

 

As for my #3. post, if you too are from Winnipeg and are looking for some places to check out or things to do, here’s another Winnipeger who loves her city and wants you to as well! : http://whowhatwherewinnipeg.com/

Leave a Reply

